European Super League: Everything Involved You Need To Know

An agreement was made by Twelve of European’s leading football clubs to start a midweek competition, European Super Leagues which would be regulated by its ‘Founding Clubs’.

The UEFA Champions League seems to be threatened by the new development as clubs involve would establish the competition to rival it.

Premier League’s big six clubs which include Manchester United, Chelsea, Arsenal, Manchester City, Tottenham and Liverpool are all engaged to make this happen.

However, clubs who have joined as ‘Founding Clubs’ include AC Milan, Arsenal, Atletico Madrid, Chelsea, Barcelona, Inter Milan, Juventus, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Real Madrid and Tottenham Hotspur have.

However, a further three clubs are expected to also join before the inaugural season, which, according to the clubs, ‘is intended to commence as soon as practicable. Skyport reported.

Meanwhile, the Bundesliga giants Club, Bayern Munich and Borussia Dortmund are not involved neither are the French club, Paris Saint-German a part of the deal.

What brought about the European Super League Initiative?

According to the Skysports report, the clubs say that ‘the formation of the Super League comes at a time when the global pandemic has accelerated the instability in the existing European football economic model. Further, for a number of years, the Founding Clubs have had the objective of improving the quality and intensity of existing European competitions throughout each season, and of creating a format for top clubs and players to compete regularly.’

What would be the mode of competition?

The Super League website reads: “The Super League is a new European competition between 20 top clubs comprised of 15 founders and five annual qualifiers. There will be two groups of 10 clubs each, playing home and away fixtures within the group each year.

“Following the group stage, eight clubs will qualify for a knockout tournament, playing home and away until the single-match Super League championship, in a dramatic four-week end to the season.

“Games will be played midweek, and all clubs will remain in their domestic leagues.”

In their statement, the clubs themselves have outlined the format in three stages:

  • 20 participating clubs with 15 Founding Clubs and a qualifying mechanism for a further five teams to qualify annually based on achievements in the prior season.
  • Midweek fixtures with all participating clubs continuing to compete in their respective national leagues, preserving the traditional domestic match calendar which remains at the heart of the club game.
  • An August start with clubs participating in two groups of ten, playing home and away fixtures, with the top three in each group automatically qualifying for the quarter-finals. Teams finishing fourth and fifth will then compete in a two-legged play-off for the remaining quarter-final positions. A two-leg knockout format will be used to reach the final at the end of May, which will be staged as a single fixture at a neutral venue.
Posted on

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *